Daily DrakeRenowned novelist and outdoor writer John D. Voelker.

The John D. Voelker Foundation and the American Museum of Fly Fishing are now accepting submissions for the 2019 Robert Traver Flyfishing Writing Award. The author of the winning essay will pocket $2,500. (Enough beer money to see you through run off. Maybe.)

The Traver Award was created in 1994 by Nick Lyons and the Voelker Foundation to encourage and recognize “distinguished original stories or essays that embody the implicit love of flyfishing, respect for the sport and the natural world in which it takes place.” The Traver stories and essays must demonstrate high literary values in one or more of these three categories:

  • The joy of fly-fishing: personal and philosophic
  • Ecological: knowledge and protection of the natural world
  • Humor: piscatorial friendships and fun on the water

$2,500 Prize: The 2019 Traver Award will be granted for the winning short work of fiction or non-fiction essay in the English language, either unpublished or published within the previous two years (e.g. for 2019 award, only works published after January 1, 2017). “Published” means released to the public in print or digital media, including a blog, website or social media; any previously published work must include a full copyright release for future publication in the Journal and an anthology. “Short work” means under 3,000 words. An entry fee of $25 will offset the administrative costs of the Award program.

Please submit your Entry Form, upload a PDF of your Traver Award entry and submit your entry fee to voelkerfoundation.com by May 31, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment